Travel Ban Info

Updated June 28, 2017:

After lower federal courts had enjoined (temporarily halted) implementation of the President’s second (March 2017) executive order, the Supreme Court lifted part of the injunction this week. Much of the injunction remains, but individuals from the affected countries will need to show a “bona fide relationship to a person or entity” in the United States to be permitted entry. How that showing will be made or better defined remains to be seen. We will update this page as information becomes available. In the meantime, an excellent analysis of the Supreme Court decision can be found here.

About the March Order

This order, available at the White House website, temporarily bans entry of refugees and migrants from predominantly Muslim countries. Some differences between this and the old order are as follows:

  • This order includes six of the seven countries but not Iraq. The six affected countries are: Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen.
  • This order affects refugees worldwide, except for those already approved and en route to the United States.
  • This order does not apply to lawful permanent residents (“green card” holders) from the affected countries, or to people who have dual citizenship with a country that is not banned.
  • This order does not apply to those inside the U.S. currently, and who had a valid visa on the date of the original order (January 27) and still had a valid visa on the date this order goes into effect.
  • The order does not go into effect until March 16, 2017.
  • The order permits case-by-case waivers of the travel ban.

The New York Times has provided a helpful analysis, with graphics, to explain the new order.